Regions and Dojos

The IKL is based in Honolulu, Hawaii, and is organized into six different regions that span through Hawaii, California, Nevada, Utah, Idaho, Minnesota, Missouri, and North Carolina.
For more information, please contact your local IKL dojo.

Region 1

Halawa Dojo

Sensei Kunihiro “Dickie” Shimoko
Oahu, HI – formsk@hawaii.rr.com

Maui dojo

Sensei Ed Tamanaha
Maui, HI – iklmauidojo@gmail.com

Moiliili dojo

Sensei Carl Sunada
Oahu, HI – iklcarl@hawaii.rr.com

Waiokeola dojo

Sensei Ron Iwata
Oahu, HI – iwata001@yahoo.com

McCully dojo

Sensei Robert Matsushita
Oahu, HI – robertm104@gmail.com

Pearl Harbor dojo

Sensei Kunihiro “Dickie” Shimoko
Oahu, HI – formsk@hawaii.rr.com

Kailua dojo

Sensei Wayne Okamura
Oahu, HI – okachong@hawaiiantel.net

Sho-en Kan dojo

Sensei Steve Lodge
Oahu, HI – iklmililani@gmail.com

Shinshu Kyokai dojo

Sensei Gary Hiramatsu
Oahu, HI – gkhiram4@gmail.com

Region 2

Captain Cook dojo

Hanshi Julian Shiroma
Big Island, HI – konashiromas@aol.com

Keaau dojo

Sensei Wilbur Mina
Big Island, HI – wilbur_mina@yahoo.com

Hilo dojo

Sensei Guy Sakai
Big Island, HI – kaukamina@aol.com

Pahala dojo

Sensei Cliff Field
Big Island, HI – ikl.pahala@att.net

Kailua-Kona dojo

Hanshi Julian Shiroma
Big Island, HI – konashiromas@aol.com

Region 3

Honokaa dojo

Sensei Dane Acdal
Big Island, HI – dpacdal@yahoo.com

Kamuela dojo

Sensei Earl Yamamoto
Big Island, HI – 8082172582@txt.att.net

Paauilo dojo

Sensei Rocky Lapinid
Big Island, HI – rlapinid@hawaii.rr.com

Kohala dojo

Sensei Hansen Kapeliela
Big Island, HI – hankapeliela@icloud.com

Waikoloa dojo

Sensei Murary Salazar
Big Island, HI – mksala@hawaiiantel.net

Region 4

Fontana dojo

Sensei Michael Schwertfeger
Fontana, CA – tigermike@earthlink.net

Rocky Mount dojo

Sensei Missy Burk
Rocky Mount, NC – 2dogsproperties@gmail.com

Kobudo dojo

Sensei Dave Bahde
Sandy, UT – kobudo@firearmsandtactics.com

San Diego dojo

Sensei Marc Pease
San Diego, CA – marc.pease@gmail.com

Salt Lake City dojo

Sensei Marty Hing
Salt Lake City, UT – iklutah@gmail.com

San Francisco dojo

Hanshi Craig Hamakawa
San Francisco, CA – hilohama@sbcglobal.net

Region 5

Forest Lake dojo

Sensei Mark Svenkeson
Forest Lake, MN – mkimmm@usfamily.net

University of Minnesota dojo

Sensei Emily Crumley
Minneapolis, MN – ecrumley823@gmail.com

Region 6

Columbia dojo

Sensei Mary Chant
Columbia, MO – marychant@msn.com

Boise dojo

Sensei Bob Gilmore
Boise, ID – rgilmore82@centurylink.net

Gate City dojo

Sensei Marian Twitchell
Pocatello, ID – mail4mt@cableone.net